Tallahassee DUI Attorneys

Protect Your Legal Rights

Hire an Experienced and Aggressive Law Firm

Tallahassee DUI Firm Overview R. Timothy Jansen Attorney Profile DUI Case Results Free DUI Case Evaluation Contact my law office for expert legal assistance..
Tallahassee DUI
You are in:
DUI
Introduction
DUI Penalties
First Time DUI
DUI Defense
Underage DUI
DUI FAQ
Breath and Blood Tests
DMV Hearings
DUI Defenses
Field Sobriety Tests
Felony DUI
Out of State DUI
DUI with Injury
Multiple DUI Offenses
Drugs & DUI
DUI Process
Fill out this form to contact me by email.





1206 North Duval Street
Tallahassee, Florida 32303
Phone: (877) 378-6136
Fax: (850) 224-0381
Helpful videos covering Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol.

The DUI Process

Tallahassee DUI Attorney

Individuals who are charged with drunk driving in Tallahassee often come to our law office asking questions about the DUI process and what they can expect to happen over the course of their case. Here our attorneys provide an outline of the Florida DUI process. If you would like further information about your specific situation, or need legal advice or guidance from a trained & skilled lawyer, we urge you to speak with a Tallahassee DUI attorney at our law firm as soon as possible.

The Stop & Arrest

Sometimes an officer may stop a driver for a minor traffic offense such as speeding, and then upon meeting the driver become suspicious of DUI. Other times, erratic driving patterns may indicate that a driver is intoxicated, and an officer will then stop the person. After obtaining probable cause, either through a field sobriety test or a breath or blood test, the officer will place the driver under arrest for DUI.

Booking

During the booking process, a person will be searched, fingerprinted, questioned, photographed, and placed into a jail cell. Bail will then be set and the suspect permitted to speak with a bonding company or a friend or relative to make bail arrangements.

Release

Florida law designates that a person arrested for DUI must be held in custody for at least 8 hours before they can be released. Once a person is no longer impaired by alcohol or drugs, they can be released through posting a bond or on their own recognizance. If you refused to take a blood or breath test, your license will be suspended. If you did submit to a test, your citation will act as a temporary driver’s license to last only for 10 days until a DMV hearing. You must request a DMV hearing within 10 days of being arrested, otherwise your license will be automatically suspended.

To learn more about the DUI process, contact a Tallahassee DUI lawyer at the law offices of Jansen and Davis, P.A. today!

R. Timothy Jansen Criminal Defense Center
Tallahassee Criminal Defense Attorneys Florida DUI Defense Drug Crime Lawyers practicing in Tallahassee Expert Federal Crimes Litigation Accused of a Sex Crime? Contact our firm for help. Tallahassee Violent Crimes Lawyers are here to help.
The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information on this website is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing of this information does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.
Jansen and Davis, P.A. - Tallahassee DUI Lawyer
Located at 1206 North Duval Street Tallahassee, FL 32303. View Map
Phone: (877) 378-6136 | Local Phone: (850) 224-1440.
Website: